Oh Russet Witch!

Oh Russet Witch!

Фрэнсис Скотт Фицджеральд

Oh Russet Witch! – one of the stories, which entered in a collection of eleven short stories by F. Scott Fitzgerald «Tales of the Jazz Age» (1922).

This story was written just after the author completed the first draft of his second novel. However it may seem, the story was supposed to be in the present time/tense. It was published in the «Metropolitan».

At the end of the story, Merlin deeply regrets not following his dreams. Caroline represents the life that Merlin always wanted, but he chooses to ignore these dreams. Merlin convinces himself that Caroline is nothing more than a witch that appears only to tempt him away from the safe life he has chosen. However, as soon as this false illusion of Caroline is shattered, Merlin falls apart. As an old man, Merlin finally realizes that he has not pursued any of his dreams and therefore his whole life has been a waste.

Famous works of the author F. S. Fitzgerald: «This Side of Paradise», «The Beautiful and Damned», «The Great Gatsby», «Tender Is the Night», «The Last Tycoon», «The Diamond as Big as the Ritz», «May Day», «The Rich Boy», «The Curious Case of Benjamin Button», «The Offshore Pirate», «The Ice Palace», «Head and Shoulders», «The Cut-Glass Bowl», «Bernice Bobs Her Hair», «Benediction», «Tales of the Jazz Age».

Купить можно в магазинах:

ISBN-10: 5-04-244819-5

ISBN-13: 978-5-04-244819-5

Год выхода: 2020

Язык книги: en

Возрастные ограничения: 12+